We’ve had various new ways of trying to sell music recently. We had the Radiohead ‘pay what you feel like’ model. The Nine Inch Nails ‘just give it away’ model. The Idlewild ‘pay for it before we’ve made it’ model. They’ve all been successful to various degrees.

Now it’s the turn of Manchester rockers Nine Black Alps to try to revolutionise the industry.

Fans who buy a ticket for the band’s October tour will recieve a free digital download of their upcoming album Locked Out From The Inside.

The album is due for release on October 5 and the tour starts a few days later. Tickets are on sale now from here for a thoroughly reasonable tenner. The dates are:

15 Stockton, Kubar
16 Carlisle, Brickyard
17 Wakefield, Escobar
19 Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
20 London, Dingwalls
21 Cardiff, Barfly
22 Manchester Academy3
23 Derby, Rockhouse
24 Bristol, Cooler
26 York, Duchess
27 Sheffield, Leadmill
28 Edinburgh, Electric Circus
29 Glasgow, ABC 2
30 Newcastle, Cluny

2 Brighton, Freebut
3 Portsmouth, Wedgewood Rooms
4 Oxford Academy 2

The first track to surface from the album is Buy Nothing, which you can listen to on Spotify. It’s a typically Nirvana-ish short burst of crunching rock, with singer Sam Forrest’s trademark melodic vocals making it a pretty decent first effort.

This article was written for The Music Magazine.