Part 10 of the Guardian series on my job hunt…

Great news – I got a call from Adfero this afternoon offering me a job as a DirectNews correspondent, starting in January. I’ve been e-mailed some details and asked to think about it before letting them know for sure tomorrow. But I’ll definitely be taking it. I’ve waited more than six months for a job offer and it would be foolish to turn down my first one. And I really think it’s a good first job for me. It will give me the chance to hone my news writing and finish off my NCTJ qualifications as well as get crucial real-life experience of working in a newsroom environment.

The starting wage is an impressive £16k a year, with 22 days of holidays, which is better than a lot of local newspaper jobs I’ve applied for over the summer. And it’s close enough for me to commute on the bus from home in the short-term, albeit adding around three hours on to my working day. All being well though I will have a car and be able to move closer to Manchester by the summer.

There will be a three-month probationary period, which was to be expected, but I got a good feeling about the place while I was there on Friday at the recruitment day. Hopefully I can settle in quickly and become an important part of the team. I’m really looking forward to getting started — I can’t wait.

In other news, I’ve been lucky enough to be selected as an England correspondent for the Guardian’s World Cup fans’ network and will be involved in the exciting live-blogging of the draw on Friday.

That’s all from me for now. I hope you’ve found my story useful and if you’ve been in a similar position I wish you good luck. Keep plugging away and you’ll get there in the end.

I’ll be back to let you know how I’m getting on in the New Year, have a good Christmas!

